SALT LAKE CITY, Utah — Team Pau, the team on which Magic forward Paolo Banchero played, defeated Orlando teammate Franz Wagner's Team Deron in Game 1 and then went on to win the Jordan Rising Stars mini-tournament title on Friday night, the first night of NBA All-Star Weekend.

What You Need To Know

In Game 1, Team Pau jumped out to an early lead behind the scoring of New Orleans Pelicans guard Jose Alvarado and Banchero and cruised to a 40-25 victory. The first team to get to 40 points in games 1 and 2 won.

Alvarado, who was on the microphone for television while he played, seemed to gain energy as he talked and finished Game 1 with 13 points. Banchero, typical of his style with the Magic, played an all-around game with nine points and five rebounds as the second-leading scorer.

Wagner played a more subdued game for Team Deron, finishing with three rebounds in the loss. Team Deron's leading scorer was the New Orleans Pelicans' Trey Murphy III with nine points, and the Los Angeles Clippers' Bones Hyland had seven.

In the championship game, the teams played with a final target score of 25, and Team Pau won 25-20. It was a tightly contested game. Alvarado, who went undrafted and entered the NBA as a free agent, had five points, including the game-winning 3-pointer, and was named MVP of the competition. Indiana Pacers forward Bennedict Mathurin led all Team Pau players in Game 2 with seven points and two assists. Banchero had 4 points, 1 rebound, a steal and a huge block in the title game. 

The New York Knicks' Quentin Grimes led Team Joakim in the title game with 14 points. Team Joakim had defeated Team Jason in Game 2 to advance to the final.

Banchero, the No. 1 overall draft pick in the 2022 NBA Draft, was the first player selected for the competition. Team Pau, named for honorary coach and retired All-Star Pau Gasol, also included Mathurin, Detroit Pistons rookie guard Jaden Ivey, Toronto Raptors second-year forward Scottie Barnes, Alvarado, Sacramento Kings rookie forward Keegan Murray and Indiana Pacers rookie Andrew Nembhard.

Wagner, the No. 8 overall draft pick in the 2021 NBA Draft, was the second player chosen for this event. He also played in the Rising Stars last year. Team Deron, named for honorary coach and retired NBA All-Star Deron Williams, also included Houston Rockets second-year center Alperen Sengun, Murphy, Atlanta Hawks rookie forward AJ Griffin, Hyland, Utah Jazz rookie center Walker Kessler and Chicago Bulls second-year guard Ayo Dosunmu, who was named to replace Houston Rockets guard Jalen Green after Green suffered a left groin strain.

The Jordan Rising Stars competition featured top NBA rookie and sophomore and G League players. They were split into four teams, named after Gasol, Williams, Joakim Noah (Team Joakim) and Jason Terry (Team Jason). The event was a three-game mini-tournament that ended with a target score for each game, meaning all the games would end on a made basket or free throw rather than time expiring.

Team Jason was made up of all G League standouts. 

On Saturday night, Banchero also will take part in the Skills Challenge.