ORLANDO, Fla. — Ahead of the group's expo in Orlando this month, officials from the International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions have announced this year’s Hall of Fame inductees.

What You Need To Know

  • IAAPA has announced 2022 Hall of Fame inductees

  • They include Joan Ganz Cooney, Xavier Lopez Ancona, Darrell Metzger and Dennis Speigel

  • The announcement comes ahead of IAAPA Expo at the Orange County Convention Center

The global trade association announced Monday that four attractions leaders will be added to the Hall of Fame, which honors those who have made significant contributions the global attractions industry.

The inductees include Joan Ganz Cooney, who helped develop the concept of “edutainment;” Xavier Lopez Ancona, the visionary behind KidZania; Darrell Metzger, who helped with the development, operation and revival of attractions and resorts around the world; and Dennis Speigel, who has played a role in developing attractions in every continent except Antarctica.

Past inductees have included Madame Tussaud, Alberto Zamperla and Disney Legend Tony Baxter.

IAAPA Expo is scheduled for Nov. 14-18 at the Orange County Convention Center.


Facebook Twitter