Federal disaster aid has been expanded to three more Florida counties, including Brevard.

  • Brevard among 3 counties now eligible for FEMA aid
  • Putnam, Indian River counties also eligible
  • Brevard Schools don't have to make up lost days

Brevard and Indian River counties were made eligible for both individual and public assistance Wednesday, the governor's office and the Federal Emergency Management Agency said. Public assistance was expanded to Putnam County.

Individual assistance provides funds for temporary housing, home repairs and living expenses to families and businesses while they rebuild. Public assistance funds emergency measures and debris removal.

The deadline to file for disaster benefits in Brevard and Indian River counties is Nov. 21. The deadline for Putnam is Nov. 18.

Brevard was among several Florida areas hit hard by Hurricane Matthew early on Oct. 7. It caused $24 million in beach erosion damage in that county alone.

On Tuesday, as Gov. Rick Scott toured areas in Brevard, FEMA announced that individual assistance would be available for residents in Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns and Volusia counties.

No makeup days for Brevard Schools

Also on Wednesday, Brevard Public Schools said that Florida Department of Education had approved its request to waive makeup days because of Hurricane Matthew. That means the district will not have to make up the three school days lost to the storm.